Update Day: The End of Year 1

Today is the last Friday of the month, which means it’s time for another update on the Got Goals Bloghop. For those of you unfamiliar with Update Day, a bunch of us set some crazy or just plain important goals and update each other on our progress once a month. If you would like more information or to just see who else is taking part, please click here.

PLEASE NOTE IF YOU ARE ALREADY A PARTICIPANT:Β The site hosting the linky sign-up is down, so please follow the link above to be taken to a blog post where you can leave your update link.

On 4 September, 2016, I had decided to reset my goals and approach writing as a full-time job, where I use my writing knowledge in various ways in order to make a sustainable income.

When I started out, a lot of people thought I was nuts. Heck. Some days, especially in November, I felt I was nuts.

But here I am.

I made it.

So I thought I’d share my thoughts on my progress.

I’ve been earning minimum wage pretty much consistently this year.

This is both a good and a bad thing. On the good side, the money I earned was enough to keep me and my family going during hard times.

On the bad, I would have liked to earn more by now.

The probable reason why I didn’t? When I had started out, I had planned to use the money I make to market my books to sell more of them, which would have generated extra income aside from the freelancing I now do.

But that money basically went into surviving for a large chunk of the year, and otherwise to keep my freelance side of the business afloat. So about 90% of my income is from freelancing, where I would have liked a more even split between my sources of income. And given that those other sources of income would have been passive, meaning I didn’t need to do much myself to earn the money, I fell short of where I wanted to be.

That said, the fact that I’ve been generating pretty much an even income every month means that I should be able to use my freelance work as a spine as I spend next year preparing to publish more books again.

I finally finished Book 3.

Ah yes. Book 3.

Number 1 reason why I didn’t publish anything this year: My life went to hell in a handbasket starting around February.

Number 2 reason: Book 3 itself. The War of Six Crowns is my major focus, writing-wise, so I’ve basically put all my available time into getting it publishing-ready. The problem is I completely underestimated the sheer size of this project.

A lot of times this year, Book 3 felt like a bottomless, endless pit and, it wasn’t only a case of not being able to finish it on schedule, but also the fact that I literally couldn’t work on anything else all year.

I finished rewriting Book 3 in August, about nine months after I had planned to publish it. Now I’m taking the approach of it’s going to take as long as it’s going to take, because after putting in this amount of work, I’m really not excited to rush it to market without being happy with the quality.

Getting something done is like opening a nesting doll.

Maybe it’s because of the way I look at things, but sometimes it feels like everything is connected to everything else. And sometimes, it can be hard to see what needs to be done first. Do I finish writing a book or do I update my website? Do I update my covers and interior or do I set up the newsletter so I can include the newsletter sign-up? Do I spend the morning freelancing so I can get this job out of the way, or do I spend it writing so I can actually make progress on my own work?

And so on.

And if I do manage to finish one thing, I take another look and see a thousand more. This often makes it feel like I’m not really making a lot of progress, but as I sit here, looking back, I’m awed.

And I know that I laid some groundwork for an astounding Year 2.

How are you doing? Do you have any major goals you’re working on?

13 thoughts on “Update Day: The End of Year 1

  1. That’s an amazing achievement – to actually earn your living from writing. Well done. Yes, it’s a shame you didn’t earn more, but what a good start. I understand the feeling of being torn between competing priorities. It’s hard to know where to put your energies when everything seems important! No advice for you, just empathy πŸ˜„

      1. Thanks!

        Sometimes I find that, when there are so many important things to do, it’s better to just pick one than worry about which I should be doing.

        As for WordPress, I started a while ago because WordPress users kept complaining that Blogger makes it difficult for them to post comments. I try to let people know as well, but sometimes that’s easier said than done. πŸ˜€

    1. ^_^

      Yeah I’m really proud of getting this far. It’s not easy and it’s a huge leap of faith, but it just goes to show that it can be done.

  2. Kudos on surviving on writing, Misha. Not many do. I definitely relate to your experiences. My current WIP is in the editing stages, pushed aside by freelance stuff. I am eager to return to it.

I'd love to know what you think, so please leave a comment!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.