Silence

Last week, I didn’t update anything. Mostly, it was because I had a mad week, including one day where I was sitting on a film set, pretending to watch tennis for about twelve hours.

But except for that, knowing that I would be doing that all day meant I had to squeeze everything else into the rest of my week. (And you guys know I’m snowed under in the best of circumstances.)

Honestly, though, I’ve been quiet last week for another reason: 911.

Monday came and I didn’t know what to say. I remembered the day our lives all changed, but I couldn’t find anything to say about it. It would have been good to say that it’s brought us closer together, but recent events have all but proven that it has not.

So what do I say?

How sad it was? That’s ridiculous, given the cost of life, both on the day and as a result of the aftermath. It’s not a sad day. It was and still is a tragedy.

Do I talk about how the world has gotten up from this blow and became a better place because we refused to give in to fear, hatred and bigotry?

Do I say I’ll remember? That I’ll never forget? Again… pointless because that goes without saying. But what does “Never Forget” even mean? Last year, I thought of it as a call to remember the dead, the loss of innocence. Last week, it felt like recalling an old grudge.

So really. I’m at a loss. And I’ve been at a loss for days.

Leave a Reply

