Holy Crap I Forgot It’s IWSG

I wish I was kidding, but sadly, I’m not. The first of the month always catches me for some reason, because my brain seems to believe that the first Wednesday for the month must be the third or later. *facepalm*

No idea what I’m talking about?

The Insecure Writer’s Support Group is a monthly bloghop taking place on the first Wednesday of every month. About two hundred writers are part of the IWSG, sharing our doubt, fears, insecurities and encouragement to let everyone else know that actually, they’re not all that alone after all.

You’re more than welcome to join, if you’d like. Click here for more information or to sign up.

So.
Because I already eloquently explained myself last week by vlog, I’m going to re-post here. I did try to keep a brave face on everything, but by the end of the first third or so, I’m basically going into where I really am in my life at the moment.
Spoiler alert, it’s not pretty. (Also, this isn’t family rated. Just so you know. And yes, the f-bombs I dropped actually did make me feel better. My mom always asks me that. No idea why.)

Since I’m just going to let that do the talking for me instead of writing again (because I’ve *just* managed to not burst into tears at the thought and writing about it again would open the scab, so to speak), I figured I’d answer this month’s question for those of you who’d rather not see/hear me.

Have you ever pulled out a really old story and reworked it? Did it work out?

Yes, I have. A long long time ago, I finished a rewrite to a book shortly after I finished rewriting Doorways. For those of you who weren’t visiting my blog at that time, The Vanished Knight + The Heir’s Choice = Doorways. 
 
It wrote like a dream. I backed up.
I was backing up the file for the last time when something (and don’t ask me what) went wrong. The entire file disappeared, replaced with an empty one of the same name.
I was heartbroken. So much so that I decided to just shelf the whole project until I could look at it without mourning the project I’d had.
It took about five years before I decided to look at that thing again, and by then, I’d grown so much as a writer that I ended up redrafting the whole thing from scratch, keeping only the characters and about half of the concept.
Any you know what? I love it even more than I loved it before. I’ve started editing it and working on it with critique partners and they’ve enjoyed it too.
But… it’s still a to be continued when it comes to knowing if it worked out. It’s not shelved per se, but because of my lack of time and the abundance of crap in my life as is mentioned in the vlog above, I just haven’t been able to get to it when I’m supposed to be finishing the sequel to The Heir’s Choice. But one day… Hopefully in this year…
What about you? Did you ever rework an old story? Any good news to share? Really in need of some good news. 
 
One update I should mention: the business plan is in with the possible investor, so prayers would be appreciated. 
15 thoughts on “Holy Crap I Forgot It’s IWSG

  1. I hope things get better, Misha. Sometimes the only way out is through. Did you read Sunday’s post on Anne R Allen’s blog with Ruth Harris about stress and burnout? Take a day (or a weekend if you can) and do something silly and relaxing just for you. Perhaps then (some) things won’t seem so bad.

    So you want good news? Let’s see… I reworked a story I wrote nearly a decade ago, translated it to Afrikaans (published on INK with favourable comments) and it’s ready to be posted (in English) as part of my A to Z challenge posts. That old spark to write about Faerie has also returned.
    Mmm… oh, I’ve also allowed daddy long leg spiders to move into my bathroom and study to work on my very rational fear of spiders. I’ve stopped shuddering each time I see them. Though I did run away screaming from a black widow spider, so perhaps the experiment isn’t going as well as I thought.

    All the best. *hug*

    1. Yay! Good going on reworking your story! Oh yeah, I’m definitely burned out. Sadly, it’s pretty much out of my power to do anything about it. 😦

  2. I have a story like that myself. All the way back for 2001, I wrote this story, and then my computer got stolen by my roommates and I lost the story. The loss of it destroyed me, and it wasn’t until 2012 that I felt confident enough to write again. And in 2012, I released a book. And several since then. So I understand how hard it is to lose a story.

  3. I’m so sorry life is rough. It’s hard to hear when someone feels like so many of their years are wasted. I really hope that business deal goes through for you. It is uplifting to hear that your story, which you heartbreakingly lost, turned out with more love than it started with.

    Best of luck, Misha. I hope things turn upward for you.

  4. This broke my heart. I’m so sorry you’re still struggling, Misha. It’s really not fair. You work so hard and you throw your heart into everything you do. I really hope this business deal comes through.

    Sending you all my love and strength, and lots of virtual hugs.

  5. I’m going backwards reading your blog, but now I can sorta guess what is going on. Business is such a pain in the ass. You are not alone. At my job (and luckily I don’t own the business, but I’m the bookkeeper, so I gotta deal with all the shit) we are on credit hold with our main suppliers and I have to beg to not get cut off and try to wrangle money out of turnips to just pay them enough to send us one more shipment. The whole world seems to be crumbling. But, we gotta just keep on keepin’ on. At least writing is free.

    1. To be honest, it’s much worse, with way more fuckery than I’ve let on. I’m sorry to hear that you’re going through so much crap, though. 😦

    1. Thanks hon. It’s not going too bad. Just frustrating because I have to wait for the investor guy. It’s like waiting for an agent times a million.

Leave a Reply

