Balancing

I’m stealing a few moments to check in. It’s really busy here on my side, since I’m trying to write 100k words this month and I got three editing and formatting jobs to do.

Not sure what I’m doing right to get all those jobs, but I’m not going to argue with it. I have to say, I’m really glad that I decided to augment my publishing income this way, because I’m actually enjoying it a lot. More than that, spending most of my working hours on this means that I’m really getting paid (and incentivized) to sharpen skills that I can use on my own publishing efforts later.

My major thing this week is to get these jobs done by Friday, because then I have enough money to pay out my Payoneer account, which means my cash flows at least until next month again. Yeah yeah. I know. Business. Bleh.

I realize the need for balance, though. I can’t keep writing so much that I don’t actually check in on my social networks. (I know. I’m TERRIBLE.) I can’t freelance so much that I can’t actually write. There has to be a way to make everything fit in.

So now I’m giving myself regular breaks on editing gigs. Usually, I have a tendency to sit down and power through the entire manuscripts in as close to one sitting as possible. I just get lost in what I’m doing, so I don’t realize that I haven’t moved in four straight hours.

Which is a terrible thing. Very bad for my health. So.

Now I have a timer running. I set it for 30 minutes to an hour, and stop, move around, blog, check in on twitter etc for a short while before starting again.

That way, I also get to refresh my mind, which I imagine will only serve me even better for getting frequent rests than it does without them.

I’m also hoping that giving myself frequent short breaks will keep me from being too tired once I get around to writing. I don’t like pushing through exhaustion too much. It’s too risky, because if I burn out, it’ll be months before I can write, and I’ve given myself an official(ish) deadline for Book 3.

Luckily for me, writing is feeling like fun at the moment, which means my brain isn’t picking up that it’s actually a hell of a lot of work. Unless I’m tired.

So it’s much better not to tire myself out. I’m way more productive that way.

How are you doing? Any tips for me to stay balanced?

 

6 thoughts on “Balancing

  1. Sounds like you’ve been busy. I like your idea of setting a timer to take breaks. Without natural breaks in your day, that is very important. I’m big on going for walks, so if you can build that into your schedule, you should. Getting outside is so inspiring. Glad you’re getting some paid gigs AND writing. Excellent.

  2. Wow! Congratulations, Misha–it sounds like your editing services are really taking off. I’m so proud of you!

    I’ve slowly, and reluctantly, come to the realization that balance just isn’t possible. I’ve strived to balance my life for years, only to frustrate myself. So the next best thing for me is varying my obsessions–now writing, now rewriting, now editing, etc., and fitting in the “must-dos” in the time left over. Good luck!

    1. Yeah I’m pretty thrilled. I actually received my next major project *right* after finishing the one I was on, so it looks like I’m on track for a record month. 😀

      LOL “varying my obsessions” sounds uncannily like something I’d write. That’s actually what I’m doing now, so maybe I should just stick with it if you’re circling back to the same thing.

  3. Taking regular breaks is very important. I’ve been working part-time as an editor for an online company for over a year now, despite having recurrent wrist issues. Frequent breaks, stretching, and moving about–definitely recommend all three of these.

    As for balancing the two–I try to spread my week out. If I have editing work one day, I spend the next day working on my own stuff (or getting some R&R). That way I don’t burn out on any one thing, and I make progress both in terms of making a living, and getting my next book done. 🙂

Leave a Reply

