A to Z Challenge: Unsure

One thing you need to know about writing: You’ll never be quite sure about it.

You’ll feel amazing one moment. The next, you’ll doubt every word.

You’ll spend the rest of your life trying to master the craft, except you never will. There’s always something else to learn.

Sometimes, you won’t even be sure about why you write at all.

But you’ll write anyway, because it’s the one passion in your life that’s almost as important to functioning as breathing.

So don’t worry about being unsure. That aspect to being a writer never goes away.

Get used to it.

What are you always unsure of as a writer?

20 thoughts on “A to Z Challenge: Unsure

  1. I'm always unsure of whether or not I actually connect with people through my writing. Like am I really an idiot for insisting on writing my stories my way. Wouldn't it just be easier to write what's going to be hot soon, or what's “marketable”? Yeah, that's what I'm unsure about.

  2. It most certainly doesn't. One moment I'll think my work rocks. The next day I feel I can't put two good words together to save my life. Hope your edits of Doorways is coming along great. 😀

  3. I'm never sure if the poem I've written is finished, and whether it's ready to send out. There always seems to be something else which can be changed, so that the final version often ends up being completely different.

  4. Hi Misha,

    Maybe I'm different. I never feel unsure about my writing. As you know, I'm totally relaxed with writing and never worry about it. Whatever happens, happens.

    Besides, I always can rely on Penny the Jack Russell dog and modest internet superstar!

    Be well and take it easy, Misha.

    Gary 🙂

  5. I guess that would be if I have a story that others will be interested in reading. When I start, I think I do, but as I get into the book, I sometimes I start to think I'm the only one who will want to read it.

    Good question.

Leave a Reply

