Back From the Future Bloghop

Today I’m taking part in two blogfests. On this blog, I’ll be discussing what I’m hoping to send myself from the future. One the other blog, I’m counting my blessings for the Bloghop of Joy. So back to Back From the future.

bftf

You’re up before dawn on a Saturday when the doorbell rings. You haven’t brewed your coffee so you wonder if you imagined the sound. Plonking the half-filled carafe in the sink, you go to the front door and cautiously swing it open. No one there. As you cast your eyes to the ground, you see a parcel addressed to you … from you.

You scoop it up and haul it inside, sensing something legitimate despite the extreme oddness of the situation. Carefully, you pry it open. Inside is a shoebox — sent from ten years in the future – and it’s filled with items you have sent yourself.
What’s in it?

Since I’m on a bit of having-writing-fun kick (which I’ll write about next week), I decided I’ll do a short (very short) story of it. Hope you enjoy! In case you’re wondering, I don’t drink coffee. Hence its absence from the morning routine. 
The doorbell rings. No… please let that be my imagination. The dogs start in on their frenzied barking. Never could figure out their problem with the bell. Maybe they just don’t like the tune. 
I growl and roll myself out of bed, landing on my feet in a show of much greater alertness than I’m currently feeling. Then I trudge up stairs. This better be worth the aggravation of waking up early on the first Saturday in weeks that I could sleep in. 
When I get to the door, there’s no one. My black lab pelts past and starts sniffling the parcel on the welcome mat. It’s addressed to me. Interesting. I pick it up and head back in, tearing at the wrapping as I go. 
A shoebox. Even more interesting. I sit down by the kitchen counter and investigate the outside of the box. Nothing strange pops out at me, so I pry the lid off. Inside lies only three things, although the third is obscured by a huge slab of dark chocolate and a piece of paper with a note on it. 
I pull out the note and stare, shock shooting through me. This is my own handwriting. Complete with ink splots, strikethroughs and just general chaos. Unable to help myself, I read it.
Hey there, kiddo, 

I know you don’t really like knowing what the future holds, so on International Send Back a Capsule Day, I thought you might appreciate these. 

You’re going to make it!!!

Love, 

Me. 

So that would be the piece of chocolate. What’s the other thing? I check back inside the box and pull out a book. My own. I open the cover. 
6th edition. And, as my future humoristic self notes in my infamously sloppy handwriting: 
And counting
38 thoughts on “Back From the Future Bloghop

  1. Ha! Love it! I can't think of anything better than that find. I'm fairly new to the blogging world, so thanks for joining my site. I was slow to get my post up this morning, but it sounds like you can relate to chaos and being behind schedule. At any rate, I enjoyed your post and will be back. 🙂

  2. Are we all writers or what? My excerpt included a book I wrote too, lol. I don't drink coffee either, nice to know I'm not the only non-conformist in the blogs.

    ……dhole

  3. Had a word with the future Misha. Yes, I'm commenting into the now from the future. And it be true, you did make it! With that, I'm taking two future 'capsules' for my future headache which also seems to be happening now.
    …..I'm outta' here, zap me back…..

  4. Misha, that was a fantastic Back to the Future shoebox. And, yep, the future's yours, girl! BTW, I'm not big on coffee either and honestly don't understand what's so great about a cup of coffee.

  5. I think this is the first I saw anyone mention editions, too. Nice work 🙂 I love dark chocolate… mmmm! ate too much of it already this weekend. haha

Leave a Reply

