Am I ready yet?

That’s the big question looming in my mind at the moment. How ready am I to return into the query trenches?

I’m both very eager and petrified of starting again. On the one hand, I know I now have a brilliant query. I also know that I have a one page synopsis that I like the look and sound of. I probably won’t be able to refine it much further than it is now.

At the same time, I have come to a decision. Something has to happen to Doorways this year. Either an agent says yes, or a publisher says yes, or I publish it myself. Point being, I am NOT sitting on it for another year.

It’s done.

So. By the time you read this post, I will have queried about 90 agents. Every single fantasy agent I know of. If none of them like the sound of my book, I’ll be going to my small publisher’s list.

And if someone still doesn’t believe portal fantasies can’t sell, I’ll go it alone.

Some of you might wonder why I’m leaving it as the last option: no reason in particular. I’m just following a progression that seemed logical to me.

As for why I’m in a hurry? I’m hoping to get my answers by March or April. That way I have a few months for my book to be edited, formatted etc. and still be finished on time.

Another reason: I no longer doubt my query. I don’t doubt my story. Not a single bit. So there will be no more revisions to my query and I’ll only revise if someone asks me to. Other than that, there’s no point for me to stretch out the process.

I know my book will go where it’s supposed to.

Wish me luck!

Anyone think I’m nuts? (I partially do.) Have you done something like this?

64 thoughts on “Am I ready yet?

  1. I wish you all the luck in the world! Persistence is the key. I felt the same way last year, with Marked Beauty. Then, I stepped out on a limb and it all started happening. Just waiting to hear about my revisions from my agent then we start subbing to the large pubs. If nothing comes of that, I still have the smaller pub offers. So either way, MB will see the light of publication. Keep going. It will happen.

  2. Good luck. I went through about 250 agents over two and a half years before deciding to self-publish. Not sure if I'd do it again, though the validation of nice reviews is nice to have. I might just sit on the ms., offering it up as an extra when querying my second.

  3. Yes, I think you're nuts, but also brave. Querying is so hard. It's so hard I have a story all about how querying makes me feel here

    Although, I have to warn you, query returns have been ultra sluggish, I'm still getting responses to queries I sent out last May!! (And YAY PORTAL FANATASY!!!!)

  4. It sounds like you are ready, positivity and determination count for so much. Having a plan of where you are going in terms of seeking representation or a publisher seems sensible to me. I am in a similar position at the moment. I will self publish if things take me in that direction because I believe 100% in my work but for me that isn't the right course of action for today. Good luck and look forward to hearing how it all goes.

  5. I remember this Woody Allen quote, “It was a choice between writing and death, and writing paid better.”

    Go for it. Believe in yourself and your work and dive in head first. I'd say, screw the agent and publisher route and go E, but I know there can be a lot of validation going the old way.

    Best wishes and never, never, never, never, never, never, stop! (a bit of Winston Churchill for you there).

  6. I'm in much the same position. I am still querying because I still hold a dream of seeing my book on bookstore shelves, but I am only giving the traditional route a limited time to yield fruit before I go it alone. The only thing determining timing now is how soon I finish and revise a second novel. Once that is done, it's back to the first and decide how (not if) it will hit the street.

    Good luck with your own work, and I wish you every success with publication – however that turns out.

  7. Yeah I think that's my thing too. I'm just tired of waiting around. Regardless of how long publishing took, I'm not keeping my book back for 6 years without doing anything with it.

  8. I must say, your agent story is one of the reasons why I'm taking this approach.

    These days, no matter what agents say, it feels to me like they don't want to go out on a limb. So now I'm out to either find the one who is, or go it alone.

  9. Makes sense. Thing is, publishing people seem to have issues with my sort of Epic Fantasy, so it's actually a long shot with querying at all.

    Still, I don't want to say I didn't try.

  10. Thanks! I'm sure something will. I used to think that I would never be able to publish without them, but now that the (small?) possibility of a 100% rejection rate is real to me, I sort of think that I'll be okay any way.

  11. Hi Misha, you seem to be concrete on what you want and how you plan to go about it, I see that as a huge positive in the right direction. I myself do not have much experience in that field, but certainly dream about writing a book someday. I wish you all the very best of luck! πŸ™‚

    Madison

Leave a Reply

