DINYB Blogfest: Jodi McIsaac

Today I’m taking part in the Did I Notice Your Book Blogfest. Basically, I pick a book that caught my eye and blog about it. Then I see if the author actually finds the post.

Without contacting her directly. So, bloggy friends, this is where you come in. Please spread the word that I’m looking for her and maybe awesomeness will happen and she’ll stop by.

This is the book I picked:

Through the Door by Jodi McIsaac. The title caught my eye first, but I adore the cover (although I think the title could be more prominent). Here’s what the story is about:

Celtic mythology and the modern world collide in Through the Door, the first book in the new urban fantasy series The Thin Veil.

Cedar McLeod lives an ordinary but lonely life, raising her six-year-old daughter Eden on her own while trying to balance the demands of her career and the expectations of her mother. Everything seems normal until the day Eden opens her bedroom door and finds herself half a world away – and then goes missing. Suddenly, Cedar realizes her daughter is anything but normal.

In a desperate search for answers, Cedar tries to track down Eden’s father, who mysteriously disappeared from her life before Eden was born. What she discovers is far beyond anything she could have imagined. As she joins unlikely allies in the hunt for her daughter, Cedar finds herself torn between two worlds: the one she thought she knew, and one where ancient myths are real, the stakes are impossibly high, and only the deepest love will survive.


Sounds great, doesn’t it? Definitely a book for my TBR list.

Would it have caught your eye? Will you help me spread the word? And Ms. McIsaac, are you here yet?

33 thoughts on “DINYB Blogfest: Jodi McIsaac

  1. Yes, this book would catch my eye, too, particularly since I'm interested in the use of myth in literature and in Celtic (and especially Welsh) myth.
    Here's the answer to the question you tweeted to me, about why I laid part of my novel in South Africa. The book is laid in the 30th century, on a now globally unified Earth, and I wanted to show several parts of the world, so I made my male protagonist born in Wales but raised by his sister in S.A. near Johannesburg (called Jonnsberg by that point) from the age of ten. Toward the end of the story there is a long segment laid on his family's holdings. You can read the 1st 14 chapters of “The Termite Queen” on separate pages at http://termitewriter.blogspot.com, or download a sample on Smashwords – http://bit.ly/LoekxF
    BTW, I found Jodi McIsaac at @jodimcisaac on Twitter and told her you were looking for her.

  2. I'm not a fantasy person, but that's a beautiful, intriguing cover. For some reason, it made me think of some game I used to play on my family's first computer, our '84 Mac.

  3. What an interesting concept, Misha! It sure didn't take long for Ms. McIsaac to find you!

    I love the cover although I do agree, the title is a little small. The story line sounds very interesting and I am intrigued with Celtic myths and legends. 🙂

Leave a Reply

