Insecure Writer’s Support Group: In the Query Trenches



Just putting in a quick post to let you know how I’m doing.

Well… I found a major issue with the query for Doorways, so now I have a new and infinitely shinier version.

Has the character’s voice and everything.

BUT, the tally on the previous query letter is as follows.

Queries sent: 5
Rejections: 3

Of which: 1 was a form letter which I assume came from the intern, 1 was a form letter which I assume came from the agent and 1 (received today) was a personalized letter.

Didn’t get crit on any, but from the last reply: “With regret, though, I’m afraid the material didn’t draw me in as much as I had hoped.”

It basically tells me two things, although somewhat conflicting. 1) That my story and query letter was okay. 2) That they can be tightened up.

Which is great to know, because as it happens, I decided to go through my story one more time. Already I’ve found LOTS of places where I could say things better. Also, I find a lot of things where I said almost the identical thing a few sentences before that. So those are going.

So I’m far from giving up. But right now I’m trying to cut out wordage, because I think it’s the reason for the first two form rejections. Not sure why, but call it a hunch.

But yeah. That’s me for today. Who else is querying? Editing?

40 thoughts on “Insecure Writer’s Support Group: In the Query Trenches

  1. It's great to hear you figured out how to write an even better query letter for DOORWAYS. Good luck with it!

    For me, I'm writing my next novella and waiting for feedback on the last one from the CPs.

  2. Don't give up yet. You have so much potential already. I don't write books so no querying for me. I do lots of editing on my movie reviews until they're perfect. My best advice to you through all of this is: FOLLOW YOUR HEART and DO WHAT YOUR LOGIC TELLS YOU. πŸ™‚

  3. You're just getting started! Good luck with the query process, and the revisions. I'm in the middle of revisions as well. Not the most fun thing, but gratifying when it's finished!

  4. Glad to hear you are not giving up. I threatened to quit today, too, but after all the lovely encouragement and hugs and loads of chocolate and boxes of Kleenex's sent my way, I've changed my mind!

  5. Hi Misha, it looks like things are moving along well for you, believe it or not. With a comment like that, it tells you that you are on the right track. And putting it down and then picking it up again is inspiring you to “tighten” it up.
    When Doorways gets accepted it will be a success, I can just feel it.
    Just don't quit, and I already know you will not, so your future is bright. Keep working.

Leave a Reply

