GUTGAA meet and greet

Hi all! Sorry for the radio silence on Thursday and Friday! Had to go here for some meetings and just to go soak up my surroundings.

Didn’t say anything because I was planning to schedule ahead. But we all know where good intentions end up more often than not. Luckily I had kept the 31st guest free, so I didn’t even feel bad.

Speaking of which, I just barely missed my deadline. Will hopefully be done by this weekend.

Okay… done with admin for now.

Deana Barnhart

Today’s the day for the GUTGAA meet and greet, so I get to answer some fun questions.

Where do you write?

Right now, I write in bed. Have the perfect space for my writing desk, but the desk itself is proving illusive. Soon though… soon. 

Quick. Go to your writing space, sit down and look to your left. What is the first thing you see?

Me. I’m looking at my built in cupboards. All the doors have full-length mirrors.

Favorite time to write?

Early to very early morning. If I’m the only one awake, no one can distract me.

Drink of choice while writing?

None, actually… many a messes has been born because of me forgetting my drink and spilling it on my bed.

When writing , do you listen to music or do you need complete silence?

I definitely listen to music. My main WiP has playlists for my main characters, as well as each the plots for each story in the series.

What was your inspiration for your latest manuscript and where did you find it?

He sort of found me. I was reading Chronicles of Narnia and in walked my one main character, insisting I pay attention to him instead. Of course, quite a few of my crit partners will agree Darrion is well worth paying attention to… so Narnia took a bit longer to finish, and Doorways was born.

What’s your most valuable writing tip?

I have more than one, but because I gave the other quite enough air, here’s another:

Want to learn how to write? Write. Want more time to write? Write. Other people achieving publishing success and you’re not even done? Write. Know rules so you can bend them. Write whenever you can, even if it’s for only five minutes. And for heavens sake stop comparing yourself and your writing speed to others. George R.R. Martin takes FOREVER to write a new book, and he’s definitely not a failure.

So that’s me. Thanks and welcome to all the new faces stopping by! Can’t wait to meet you.

Where did you get your inspiration for your WiP?

58 thoughts on “GUTGAA meet and greet

  1. Both, actually. ^_^

    I used to even study in bed because my dorm's desk was tiny and crowded, so it became a habit. Also, I have no other space in my room where I can write.

    Planning to buy an antique writing desk. Hoping that the beauty (and/or the price I'm going to pay to get it) will inspire me to write on it instead.

  2. I can relate to your experience of a character walking in while you're reading another book! I've had that happen. I've been holding off on my WIP to deal with my current MS, but the other night I was trying to read and my new characters kept strolling in. I put down the book and daydreamed for a bit. I think I'm still not ready to write it.

    Good luck with GUTGAA! Here's my GUTGAA Meet and Greet post: A Girl and her Diary

  3. Love the tip, no matter how long it takes, I know for me it was 4 years between the first and the second, even though the second and third was in rough draft the same year book one was ready for publication. Crazy, but it's only right when it's right! At least for me. 🙂

  4. Nice to meet you and great answers. I laughed at the spilling your drink on your bed. I have a small shelf on the wall by my bed where I put a glass of water before I go to sleep. Because I can't sleep the same way every night, I switch my pillow to the foot of my bed every few nights and almost always end up kicking my cup on top of myself while I'm sleeping. Rude awakening? Yes. LOVE your writing tip. Check out my blog if you have the time: jadziabrandli.blogspot.com

  5. Wow, your “Want to learn how to write?” paragraph is awesome and very true. Write, write, WRITE! Definitely not good to compare ourselves to other writers. We all seem to be on slightly different paths and speeds of travel. 🙂

  6. Hmmm my WIP came out of my previous book. I wanted to explore what happened to a peripheral character (David) and the whole thing blossomed from there.

  7. *Waves* Nice to meet you!! And I am totally jealous you get to write in bed. Trust me, there are mornings I have thought about it. Especially when my cats are being extra snugly in the morning.

  8. I totally related to your current “desk” situation. My novel began on the guest room bed, after the kids went to bed (my muse is nocturnal.) Loved “Know rules so you can bend them,” and laughed over your insistent Darrion. Our characters are just. Like. That. Lol. Cheers.

  9. Yeah I waited for months after Darrion walked in to figure out who was who and who (dis)liked who and how their world works.

    But once I got going, things really went well. It's the first book I ever finished.

Leave a Reply

