Oh look! An interruption!

Today was one of those days. You know, where you start with the best of intentions to be productive, only to end up… well… not.

I even woke up an hour early today, but I swear there were time-gremlins in the house.

Of course, I did get other stuff done, like cleaning house, editing a business plan and checking up on financials. The last two were the main time-sucks, but hey, variety is good.

Today I got to give my left brain a stretch… or something like that.

In the mean time, I managed to do a bit of editing to Part 4 and send Part 3 off to a second round of crits. So all things considered, I didn’t do too badly edit-wise. On the other hand, it’s a crawl compared to what I’m used to.

BUT! I decided to cut down on my computer/editing time, as last week I clocked about 13-16 hour editing days. Which is sort of ridiculous, when one considers that I have more than five months left to finish Doorways. Point is, it isn’t healthy.

Maybe today is a good cue for me to kick back a little and finish Persuasion. Yes, I am only on my second Jane Austen book. Yes. Still. What can I say? My characters called open season on regency period ladies and gents… ;-P

What do you do to chill out when your editing/writing revs go into the red?

17 thoughts on “Oh look! An interruption!

  1. Mm, Persuasion is one of my favorites of Jane Austen! Hope you enjoy.

    I do different things to get away from the computer. Sometimes I go for a walk, or take my son outside to play. Sometimes I'm so exhausted I just want to watch a movie. A lot of times I read. It's always good to get a little break time!

  2. Wait…does this mean what do we do in our free time? What is that? πŸ™‚
    I like to read as well, but since that's my full time job now, I am better with relaxing by watching Downton Abbey.

  3. I admit to being the kind of person who sits at her computer and stares at it all day. I need a plan to get me away from it. My husband is good – He'll come in and say; Right, we're going out! And I ge up and go. Sounds pathetic, huh? Bu tI need it. Otherwise I'd sit inside in the dark, choking on dust and fearing the curtains opening πŸ˜› Anyway – Persuasion: Brilliant. Not my faces – but close πŸ™‚ Enjoy X

  4. I love Jane Austen. I read her over and over and over.

    I have deadlines of end of February, which has me almost hyperventilating today. January is almost over. Ahhhh! Panic.

    I usually workout in the afternoon. It's a good break. Clears my head…sort of.

  5. Aha Misha,
    Are you sitting comfortably? Good. After multitasking, yes you read correctly, after multitasking, I chill out and check what delightful words you have graced us with. And editing? What's that?
    Have a good day and happy writing to you, in between housework and checking out the “time-gremlins” πŸ™‚
    Kind wishes, shy, humble and unassuming Gary….

  6. I always figure whatever pace my edits go, they'll go that way πŸ™‚ no need to slow down OR speed up from what's happening naturally. but then again, I'm still NOT editing soooo maybe I need to kick myself into speeding up πŸ˜‰

  7. Sometimes travelling around town is the best to do for me. But one is always hard pressed for time. Persuasion can be a great thing to chill out with. I've got one more to read for JAJ and two to write about.

Leave a Reply

